Sponsor Board

The Sponsor Board was established in shadow form in July 2018, and it will own the budget, business case, and scope of the restoration programme.

The Sponsor Board will act as the single client accountable to Parliament and will be responsible for overseeing the work of the Delivery Authority.

Legislation is required for the Sponsor Board to be established as a stand-alone organisation, which is the reason it has been set up in shadow form for the time being.

The Sponsor Board together with its Executive Team makes up the Sponsor Body.

Board members

Liz Peace CBE (Chair)

Liz Peace has more than 35 years’ experience in government and the property sector, currently serving as Chair of the Government Property Agency, established to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the Government Estate. She is also Chairman of the Mayor of London’s Old Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation, which manages the UK’s largest regeneration project, as well as being a former Chief Executive of the British Property Federation.

Brigid Janssen

Brigid Janssen has directed strategic communications for a wide variety of international financial institutions, including the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in London, the OECD in Paris, and the International Finance Corporation of the World Bank in Washington. She has served on the board of a heritage organisation in Canada and currently she advises clients on reputation management.

Marta Phillips OBE

Marta Phillips has had a successful career in the public and private sectors finishing as chief executive of the Pensions Advisory Service. She has continued with her interest in the public sector and now has a portfolio of non-executive appointments mainly in the government and the education sectors.

Dr Simon Thurley CBE

Dr Simon Thurley is a well-known historian and academic who has published many books on architectural history and heritage. Between 2002 and 2015 he was chief executive of English Heritage and before that, for five years, was director of the Museum of London.

Simon Wright OBE

Simon Wright has more than 40 years’ experience in construction and project management and is a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers. He was formerly the Chief Executive of Crossrail and was Director of Infrastructure at the Olympic Delivery Authority.

Lord Carter of Coles (Labour)

Lord Carter has been a member of the House of Lords Audit Committee since 2013, on the Lords Rural Economy Committee since May 2018. Lord Carter is a former member of the Joint Committee on the Palace of Westminster.

Lord Deighton (Conservative)

Lord Deighton is the non-executive Chairman of Heathrow Airport, The Economist Group and the Holdingham Group and a non-executive Director of Square, Inc. He was CEO of LOCOG (London Organising Committee of the Olympic Games), was Commercial Secretary for HM Treasury and was responsible for the UK’s National Infrastructure Plan. He is a former member of the Joint Committee on the Palace of Westminster.

Lord Best (Crossbench) 

Lord Best is co-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Housing and Care for Older People and chaired the Regulation of Property Agents Working Group. He has served as Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation and the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, and was President of the Local Government Association, Chair of Hanover Housing Association and of the Property Ombudsman. 

Baroness Scott (Liberal Democrat) 

Baroness Scott sits on the House of Lords Statutory Instruments Joint Committee, and has chaired and been a member of a variety of Lords Committees for nearly 20 years. She is a former Party Chair for the Liberal Democrats. 

Damian Hinds MP (Conservative) 

Damian Hinds served as Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Employment. He was elected as an MP in 2010, served on the Education Select Committee and chaired the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Social Mobility. He has also served as an Assistant Government Whip and as Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury. 

Sir Robert Syms MP (Conservative) 

Sir Robert is a former vice-chairman of the Conservative Party and has served on various select committees, including Chair of the Regulatory Reform Select Committee and High-Speed Rail Select Committee. In Opposition he was variously Shadow Spokesman on Environment, Transport and the Regions and shadow minister in the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and for Communities and Local Government. 

Tommy Sheppard MP (Scottish National Party) 

Tommy Sheppard has been an MP since 2015 and is Shadow SNP Leader of the Commons. He ​is a former Labour councillor and served as deputy leader of Hackney Council before founding the successful Stand Comedy Clubs in Edinburgh and Glasgow. He also led the Edinburgh South Yes Scotland campaign in 2012. 

Mark Tami MP (Labour)

Mark Tami MP has been Member of Parliament for Alyn and Deeside since 2001. He is a member of the Commons Finance Committee and is a former member of the Joint Committee on the Palace of Westminster. Prior to working in Westminster, Tami was head of policy at the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union.

Agenda - 23 March 2020 - due to Covid-19, the board meeting was cancelled and the agenda items were agreed by correspondence

Minutes - 23 March 2020 - due to Covid-19, the board meeting was cancelled and all agenda items agreed by correspondence